Author Topic: Software engineering/IT Security - How to get out of the corporate world ?  (Read 2305 times)

Morpheus

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
I'm a software engineer, and most of my experience and interest is around the security domain. Even with my current high savings rate I don't see how my wealth is going to change dramatically if I'll just keep working "for a company". Reading some financial material made me understand that living from paycheck to paycheck is not a way to build significant wealth, Working "for a company" is less fun for me too, I rather put my time and effort into developing my own business and get the added bonus of making my own schedule (which is very important for me).
So I'm looking for a way out of the corporate world, even if it's going to be hard in the beginning.

My ideal goal would be to provide security consulting services - pen testing, vulnerability assessments, code reviews, incident and breach response, etc. Start by doing that as a side business and see how I can expand from there.
I'm also open to working on projects as a freelance software developer as a side gig, although I don't see how I can expand that in the future (unless I'm working on my own idea that succeeds)

I'm stuck in the 'how do I begin' phase.
Did anyone here made a similar transition? Anyone here in the software/security industry and managed to have a side gig while employed in a company? If so , How do you find clients? Any tips on how to start?

Thanks and happy holidays!
« Last Edit: December 26, 2016, 08:32:00 AM by Morpheus »

Txtriathlete

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Re: Software engineering/IT Security - How to get out of the corporate world ?
« Reply #1 on: December 26, 2016, 10:55:10 AM »
I have started 5 or 6 businesses over the last 30 years. Some thoughts: