Author Topic: MMM therapy:Philosophical problems about work, home and life (somewhat rambling)  (Read 28140 times)

shelivesthedream

• Walrus Stache
I've tried to categorise these ramblings a bit below, but the main theme is just not really being sure about what I'm doing with my life. I'd appreciate any thoughts you can raise from the tangled mess below. I'd be equally happy with questions and answers!

Background
I'm 25. I work as a freelance creative doing self-contained team projects. I have a degree in it and am doing OK with my career. I've only been doing it for a little under two years, so I guess I'm still an emerging creative. My husband is training for a super-steady job and his training is being paid for by his future employer. The pay will never be great but it's a job for life and he loves what he does/will do. He'll be training until about May 2017. Small flat in a walkable mid-sized town in the south of England.

Work
For someone working regularly in my creative field, I just don't think I'm very driven. I generally enjoy the work I do, and I definitely enjoy the working patterns of a freelancer (own schedule, own priorities, own responsibility but so little bullshit from bosses/colleagues). But when I look around at the people  graduated with, they are all really hustling to get on, really ambitious to work for top-tier organisations... I mean, I'd love to work for one if the opportunity arose but I just don't have the drive to get on my bike and seek it out. I think I am somewhat falling into the trap of thinking that your job *has* to be some major passion for you, but I do feel like it ought to be for creatives. Otherwise why bother accepting the shitty pay? I feel like I've been handed some huge privilege (regular work in my field) and I'm not even appreciating it.