Author Topic: Any professional engineers here?  (Read 8947 times)

frugalnacho

• Walrus Stache
Any professional engineers here?
« on: March 23, 2018, 07:51:59 AM »
I have a degree in chemical engineering, and I've been working for 12 years as an environmental engineer.  I never needed to get my PE, and still don't need to for my job.  I've been thinking about getting it anyway.  I don't know if it will open up more career opportunities for me, I just wanted to get it as a personal goal.

So how many PEs are on MMM?

theglidd

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Re: Any professional engineers here?
« Reply #1 on: March 23, 2018, 08:05:40 AM »
I have a PE in mechanical engineering.

I'm in consulting, so it was "suggested" that I get it. Also it was a personal goal of mine.

I'd say go for it. Just some paper work and a test. Doesn't hurt to have it on a resume either.

zolotiyeruki

• Walrus Stache
« Reply #2 on: March 23, 2018, 08:07:14 AM »
I'm in a similar position - an EE in the field for 12 years, but not a PE. I believe @Exflyboy is a PE, he might have some insights.

theglidd--my understanding is that in many places, you have to be mentored by a PE for a number of years before you can take the test.  Was that the case for you?  I imagine that for a lot of non-P engineers, they don't have a PE handy for mentoring.

jinga nation

• Magnum Stache
« Reply #3 on: March 23, 2018, 08:14:38 AM »
I'm in a similar position - an EE in the field for 12 years, but not a PE. I believe @Exflyboy is a PE, he might have some insights.

theglidd--my understanding is that in many places, you have to be mentored by a PE for a number of years before you can take the test.  Was that the case for you?  I imagine that for a lot of non-P engineers, they don't have a PE handy for mentoring.