Author Topic: Fire on $750k invested?  (Read 80586 times)

JN2

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
    • FIRE notice
Re: Fire on $750k invested?
« Reply #50 on: October 23, 2015, 07:08:58 AM »
I fired on $200k invested. This will be $0k in 8 years time but by then the pensions will total $2.5k per month. Which is more than I spend :)

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
« Reply #51 on: November 02, 2015, 06:24:06 AM »
When people calculate their WR, do they include the MER of their portfolio? At .3% MER and a portfolio size of 750K$, that's 2,250$ per year. That's more than I spend on living cost a month!

Yes, you absolutely need to count in your ERs.  If you are targeting a 4% WR, and have 0.1% ER, you should take out 3.9%.
I am a former teacher who accumulated a bunch of real estate, retired at 29, spent some time traveling the world full time and am now settled with three kids.
If you want to know more about me, this Business Insider profile tells the story pretty well.
I (rarely) blog at AdventuringAlong.com. Check out the Now page to see what I'm up to currently.

Cowtown2011

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #52 on: November 05, 2015, 05:54:24 PM »