Author Topic: Quitting my toxic job pre-FIRE (be nice, please!)  (Read 1176 times)

Mademoiselle Mustache

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Quitting my toxic job pre-FIRE (be nice, please!)
« on: January 15, 2023, 02:52:57 PM »
Hello fellow cult members: looking for a little encouragement here so please be nice.

BACKGROUND: I relocated to my home country (Australia) in 2022 after 10 years living the tax-free expat dream. Though I was employed full time, I moonlighted freelance work throughout the ten years - and have kept that up since returning.

I'm single, no kids, and pushing 40. I am happy to say I've built up a little mountain of savings/investments and FIRE is within reach (5 years, maybe less).

THE SITUATION: I was recruited from overseas for my current full time job, and it has not turned out to be what was promised (ie. clients I relocated for had left the company and they hid it for the first few weeks from me etc). I finished a Masters in 2021, and now none of my clients relate to that field which is my passion (aviation) so the degree is starting to feel like a waste.

Even more tricky, my notice period is three months, which makes job hunting quite difficult.

I find the company culture is quite toxic, and trust has been broken by the way they have treated quite a few employees (unjustified redundancies made before Christmas and so on).

I indicated intent to resign in December 2022, and was asked to please re-consider and regroup in the first week of January with HR. I had to be proactive and set up a meeting to confirm my resignation in January as I didn't hear a peep out of HR. Again, I was asked to delay - they came back to me with the offer of 80% remote work and extra annual leave (that I would need to work to accrue). I appreciate they are trying to keep me, but after being employed there for 9 months, I'm expecting more of the same empty promises.