Author Topic: Invest vs Pay Down House  (Read 11126 times)

Nevs

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Invest vs Pay Down House
« on: February 26, 2016, 06:04:00 AM »
Hi all,

I'm going to ask a fairly common question, but wanted some advice based on my circumstances.

Financial Overview
My wife and I combined bring in about 6000$ a month in take home pay after employer tax withholding and health insurance.

We save around 2500$ a month outside of budgeted expenses.

We have a 131k mortgage at 4% interest.

We currently have 2 months cash cushion based on my monthly budgeted expenses, so around 10k cash.

Problem Statement
The elephant in the room: We both have fairly volatile jobs (or at least perceived this way)

I am a consultant in IT, with a small startup company of about 8 people. The company is doing very well, but I also have the least experienced on the team and would likely be the first to go if the company could not find work. My wife is a school teacher currently on a limited contract and we have no idea if she will be renewed for next year yet.

I've been worried about the volatility of the these positions, but believe the work experience we are receiving from them to be worth the risk. We've also been doing this for 2 years, and I feel like I need to ease off the concern a bit as everything always seems to work out well for us. We have great work ethic and I'm becoming less concerned about our future job position.

Potential Solutions
I can't decide, based on the volatility of our jobs, whether to invest in stocks, pay down my house, or just keep a big cash cushion just in case.

Here are the options I've come up with:

1.) 6 months liquid cash cushion that we could likely stretch out to 9 months in a pinch
2.) 3 months cash cushion (stretch to 5-6) with the house paid down significantly + HELOC for emergencies or job loss
3.) 3 months cash cushion with maxed out retirement accounts (IRA, teacher 403b, etc.)