Author Topic: 39 and trying to get sorted  (Read 1033 times)

FD2004

  • 5 O'Clock Shadow
  • *
  • Posts: 2
39 and trying to get sorted
« on: December 26, 2018, 08:17:06 AM »
Found this community and idea a little late in the game and I've made a lot of mistakes along the way.  I'm trying to make up for these.  Here is my situation:

39 single, no kids
$2600 a month take home salary
Half of insurance is paid $250 a month
Cell phone paid
Able to live on site rent and utility free
3%match on a simple ira

Bills (Monthly)
$55 internet
$89 renters, car and umbrella insurance
$525 car payment (5 years left)
$250 health insurance

Bills (Annually)
$450 license plates
$300 gym membership


Savings (Monthly)
$114 Simple IRA (company match)
$458 Roth IRA
$300 Betterment
$250 HY Saving Account (2.20)

This leaves $675 for all other expenses.

Savings so far:
$60,000 in an old 401k
$33,000 Roth IRA
17,000 Simple IRA
$1500 Betterment
$1600 HY Savings
$5000 in checking (not really savings)

Also, when I retire my expenses will grow quite a bit (housing, cell phone, health insurance), so I have no idea how to really set a goal number for retirement.

Any thoughts? Thanks for reading.






El Jacinto

  • 5 O'Clock Shadow
  • *
  • Posts: 39
Re: 39 and trying to get sorted
« Reply #1 on: December 27, 2018, 01:31:02 PM »
That car payment makes my chest tight. I would much rather drive a $5,000 car that will last a decade with care than spend $31,500 over the next five years. That difference is $114,500 net of inflation in retirement.

Is that the normal price for license plates in your state, or are they specialty? I think it's about $85 in TN.

There are definitely gyms cheaper than $25/month, or you could stay fit without a gym. https://www.mrmoneymustache.com/2016/12/13/staying-fit-with-no-gym-in-sight/

Are rent, utilities, and cell phone expenses covered by your employer? I would consider beefing up the emergency fund, since you would have to find a place to live if you found yourself out of work. $10,000 or so in that savings account would be a good idea. It doesn't earn much interest, but it's a nice safety net.

draco44

  • 5 O'Clock Shadow
  • *
  • Posts: 29
Re: 39 and trying to get sorted
« Reply #2 on: December 27, 2018, 11:58:52 PM »
That car payment was the first thing that stood out to me too.  Because it sounds like you are living on-site at your workplace, can you get by with a cheaper car, or no car at all?  Reducing your transportation expenses could skyrocket your savings rate. Especially because you apparently have no debt other than the car payments.

Also, I noticed that you didn't include a separate line item for food. I'm assuming you have that covered by the $675 "other expenses" category, but suggest taking a closer look at that spending category since it is a common budget buster for many people.

leavesofgrass

  • 5 O'Clock Shadow
  • *
  • Posts: 28
Re: 39 and trying to get sorted
« Reply #3 on: December 28, 2018, 03:26:27 PM »
That car payment is so high! I would highly suggest getting out of that if you can. What are you driving and what are the terms of that payment?