Author Topic: WTF moments!!  (Read 10165 times)

AlanStache

• Magnum Stache
Re: WTF moments!!
« Reply #50 on: April 05, 2019, 10:58:41 AM »
Following.

Travis

• Magnum Stache
« Reply #51 on: April 05, 2019, 04:18:50 PM »

I looked him straight in the eye and said, in a calm voice, enunciating this very distinctly, "When I and my programmers write such bad code that we need pagers, I will find another line of work."   And then i just looked at him.  Didn't say another word.

I'm trying to imagine such a utopian world where software was patched that quickly...

happy

• Walrus Stache
« Reply #52 on: April 06, 2019, 05:08:06 AM »
So many WTF moments...The most bizarre one being woken from a deep sleep at 5am to be told I had to come in straight away because there was water coming out from under a door in the centre I worked in. WTF? I'm a doctor!

Lessons learned after decades of WTFs:
1. never give anyone at work your personal mobile ( unless you are friends )
2. use the work phone for work.
3. turn it off when you are not at work, unless you are officially on call.
4. don't say stuff like" any problems give me a call, anytime", unless you mean it
5. when asked "can I call you on your day off" say NO and direct them to the appropriate person covering you
6. make sure you have someone covering you at all times you are not at work

And yeah, save for FIRE because even strict work/life boundaries are sometimes not enough.

sun and sand

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #53 on: April 08, 2019, 11:07:01 PM »
An eight year old girl in my music class was agitated and yelled at me, "Go curl up in a corner, b--ch and die!"  I figured it was time to retire from teaching. The best years were behind me.

heiding

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #54 on: April 09, 2019, 04:25:26 PM »