Author Topic: Will there be too much Index Fund investors in 2020?  (Read 2515 times)

RiddleMB

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Will there be too much Index Fund investors in 2020?
« on: June 08, 2019, 06:52:23 AM »
I'v been reading a few articles lately, dooming the index funds in the near future.

The claim that index funds are yielding lower percentages and can crash more easily due to the increasing amount of people who put their money in low-cost index funds.

I'm very reluctant to believe anything I read on the net, but I'm new to investing and have no reliable sources of information.
I tried searching in "BogelHeads" but they discuss there only the extreme scenario in which EVERYONE is investing only in index funds.

I'll link the articles below, and would like to know your opinions about them. I saved a good amount of money, which I plan to put into index funds, and would like to know if all those claims have any real ground.
On the same note, can anyone recommend a real good source for such issues?

https://www.forbes.com/sites/greatspeculations/2018/09/19/are-we-headed-for-a-passive-index-meltdown/#12597e62413e
https://awealthofcommonsense.com/2018/08/could-index-funds-become-too-popular/
https://www.marketwatch.com/story/index-fund-investors-will-fail-in-a-bear-market-if-they-cant-pass-this-test-2018-08-17
https://www.lynalden.com/index-funds/

Your help is much appreciated,
Cheers!

Murse

• Pencil Stache
Re: Will there be too much Index Fund investors in 2020?
« Reply #1 on: June 08, 2019, 06:58:51 AM »
An index fund is just a basket of stocks and trades just like the basket of stocks. Let’s say you are in a index fund and for simplicity let’s say it has Microsoft, apple, google and amazon in it. The only way the index will go down is if the stocks in the basket go down based on weighting- meaning the only way this would happen is if the stocks Microsoft, apple, google and amazon went down, in which case anybody owning those stocks would be hurt as well.

Sibley