Author Topic: Why Don't More People Seek Earlier Retirement?  (Read 152690 times)

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
Re: Why Don't More People Seek Earlier Retirement?
« Reply #350 on: February 21, 2016, 12:56:33 PM »
What a stellar post, Rosy. Thank you.
I am a former teacher who accumulated a bunch of real estate, retired at 29, spent some time traveling the world full time and am now settled with three kids.
If you want to know more about me, this Business Insider profile tells the story pretty well.
I (rarely) blog at AdventuringAlong.com. Check out the Now page to see what I'm up to currently.

dragoncar

• Walrus Stache
  • Registered member
« Reply #351 on: February 21, 2016, 12:59:56 PM »
My job is extremely interesting and I interact with some of the most powerful people in the world.

The most powerful people in the world?!? Golly, wow, tell us more.

Can't.  I can say that I really enjoy my job and there's so much flexibility.  I also get to travel to some pretty cool places. 

If I were to quit my job I would simply have to entertain myself at home because my husband needs to stay in our current city for his job.  I already feel like I have plenty of time at home.  I have every other Friday off and five weeks of vacation a year. 

My plan is to take the earliest retirement under my pension which is in my early 50s.  I will get 60 percent of my last year's salary for life.

Entertain yourself?  Aw hell no!

Agree with rosy, sounds like you are happy.  Do what you want!  But do you really think most people are so lucky to be in your position?  I'm not sure how your highly privileged comments here are germane to the question of why more people don't retire early since people like you are probably 0.5% of the population.  If I were, say, Donald trump I probably wouldn't retire either since I could basically do whatever I want in business and surround myself with adoring yes-men.
« Last Edit: February 21, 2016, 01:02:18 PM by dragoncar »

Think