Author Topic: who has lived off of 4% swr for over 10 years and how is it going?  (Read 17487 times)

SAHD

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
I have been reading that a 4% swr is old school and does not work in todays environment.  Has anyone lived through the great recession withdrawing 4% and how is your savings holding out?

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
Re: who has lived off of 4% swr for over 10 years and how is it going?
« Reply #1 on: March 23, 2014, 10:42:11 PM »
I can find cases of it working (see Nord's post in this recent thread discussing it with multiple examples of long-time retirees) and cases of it not (look up Raddr's Y2K Retiree who is crashing and burning pretty hard).

I think the bottom line in ER is to be flexible with your WR, and not stick to a rigid one even when stuff is tanking.
I am a former teacher who accumulated a bunch of real estate, retired at 29, spent some time traveling the world full time and am now settled with three kids.
If you want to know more about me, this Business Insider profile tells the story pretty well.
I (rarely) blog at AdventuringAlong.com. Check out the Now page to see what I'm up to currently.

The Money Monk

• Pencil Stache
« Reply #2 on: March 24, 2014, 12:59:07 AM »
I have been reading that a 4% swr is old school and does not work in todays environment.  Has anyone lived through the great recession withdrawing 4% and how is your savings holding out?