Author Topic: When did you notice the compound interest snowball?  (Read 15274 times)

jordy913

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
When did you notice the compound interest snowball?
« on: May 21, 2015, 03:36:59 PM »
Hi there!

I'm a newbie, and I'm sure this has already been asked and answered, but I can't seem to find it in the search. If anyone wants to point me in the right direction, please feel free.

My question is: at what point did you really start to see the effects of compound interest? When was the moment you realized how fast your portfolio had grown?

I'm at the beginning of my quest for FI, but I'd love to know any experiences. I've got a ways to go, but I like to hit milestones, and that's one that I'm really excited for.

Thanks!

LiveLean

• Pencil Stache
    • ToLiveLean
Re: When did you notice the compound interest snowball?
« Reply #1 on: May 21, 2015, 03:46:55 PM »
In the early 1980s when I was about 12-13 and CDs were paying about 12 percent interest, my wonderfully mustachian late mom had me take $500 of my lawn mowing savings and buy a CD. Incredible lesson.

MMM and others like The Bank of Dad have suggested paying kids interest yourself since we're at 0.2 percent otherwise. I need to get on that with my kids.

Eric

• Magnum Stache
« Reply #2 on: May 21, 2015, 04:12:17 PM »
The S&P went up 32.39% in 2013.  That didn't suck.

marty998

• Walrus Stache
« Reply #3 on: May 21, 2015, 04:12:31 PM »
Last week...when I think the value of my 2 properties essentially went up by a combined $120,000ish, based on comparable sales.

I'm reluctant to add it to the net asset totals just yet... want some extra confirmation with a couple more local sales results.

Combined, I have a valuation on them of $1m before last weeks 'adjustment' ... a 6% change (which is the long term growth rate) means $60k increase in growth per year.

Always knew the compounding effect was there, but this was the first time it smacked me across the face.

jordy913

• 5 O'Clock Shadow