Author Topic: What happens to people that don't save for retirement?  (Read 21594 times)

BPA

• Handlebar Stache
Re: What happens to people that don't save for retirement?
« Reply #50 on: December 03, 2014, 07:21:25 PM »
I agree with the Greaper that many people find themselves in bad circumstances due to no fault of theer own.  I was a social worker at one point in time.  Yes we all know some people that blew all their $ but many have had devastating medical bills, illness, un or under employment, etc.  I spent the last 24 years of my working career helping people with disabilities return to work.  By the time we saw these people they usually had lost everything due to not being able to work, not having necessary resources to help them find work.   WE provided the necessary services that got them back to work. Sure some were losers but MOST were not!  I always used to say "there but for the grace of God go I."   It doesn't matter how much education you have-one accident or illness can take away your livelihood.

Thank you so much for this post. 

fartface

• Bristles
    • money apple
« Reply #51 on: December 15, 2014, 05:48:07 PM »
Did anyone ever have any luck convincing spendthrift parents at or near retirement age to reduce spending? If so, any tips? :)

SH!T-- I cannot imagine this. And yet, several MMM posters, share this about their very own parents.

My parents both retired before age 50 (a dozen or more years ago) due largely in part to my Dad being able to claim his pension after 25 years of service + medical. That, coupled with a home that had been paid off 20 years prior, set the stage for their ER.

Last spring, my Dad was FINALLY eligible for SS at age 62 after being 12+ years retired already.

mindaugas

• Bristles
    • Mike Says Meh
« Reply #52 on: December 15, 2014, 05:57:22 PM »
My mom lives with me in my basement and works part time online.

OutBy40

• Stubble
    • ThinkSaveRetire.com
« Reply #53 on: December 15, 2014, 07:51:43 PM »