Author Topic: What comes after the ACA?  (Read 1916366 times)

PathtoFIRE

• Pencil Stache
Re: What comes after the ACA?
« Reply #2550 on: June 06, 2017, 09:23:32 AM »
For reference, I am a physician, but admit I can't speak with any special authority on the recent issues on this thread. I'm a pathologist, and while we have seen a steady cut in reimbursement over the last 6 years that I've been practicing, our paperwork load is very minimal. And the laboratory has been a high regulatory environment since the 1980s scandals, and I don't hear any drumbeat to roll back much of that stuff on the lab/pathology side, but I can't speak for what my clinical colleagues have experienced.

Re: $65/hr physicians
This seems like something that could be easily researched. What do physicians in other developed countries make per hour. Is it similar, less, more than in the USA? I suspect it's similar to less but don't actually know. Does that affect quality in any measurable way? Do they have trouble filling medical school classes and residency spots?

Re: years and years of training
This isn't black or white. It is a special privilege to be a medical student and resident, let's not get overly dramatic and suggest that it was a tortuous living hell most of us slogged through to get out into practice, and residents/fellows do get paid. 4 years of undergrad and 4 years of medical school are unnecessary to train doctors, premed requirements encompass about 2 years, so for those who know from the start of college that they want to go into medicine, I say let them start medical school without a BS/BA. Many schools are doing in 18 months what most of use learn in the first two years of med school, and the fourth year of medical school is mostly a place filler to allow time for residency interviews, etc., so restructure that whole transition and save a year or more of time

radram

• Pencil Stache
« Reply #2551 on: June 06, 2017, 10:08:34 AM »