Author Topic: What's your job title and how much do you earn?  (Read 348389 times)

mm1970

• Senior Mustachian
Re: What's your job title and how much do you earn?
« Reply #600 on: June 27, 2017, 11:23:40 AM »
I'm a repair and maintenance technician at a semiconductor company.
Salary is 100k including bonuses.  Add another couple of grand for the ESPP, and about 3k for the 401k match
7 weeks PTO
I work a compressed shift, 3 days one week, 4 days the next, 12 hours per day.
Associate degree.

We also have rental properties netting about 24k per year.

Do tell! I got a BA in English and only make a fraction of that. I went to community college first, but apparently I should have gotten an AS and stopped there instead of an AA and going on to a university. What exactly was your associates in?
I'm guessing engineering technology of some sort.

Good, experienced, qualified semiconductor repair and maintenance technicians and engineers can be really hard to find.  And they are worth their weight in gold.  Platinum if they *also* don't have weird personality quirks or attitudes.

(I'm in semiconductors.  Was a fab process engineer for a couple of decades.)

For about 30 years I worked for a company that started out as Texas Instruments, then morphed into a joint venture and then the partner bought it out completely.  We made the raw wafers that IC's are built on.  Over the years I became the company expert on several pieces of equipment and was proficient in all of them.  This allowed me to travel the world occasionally troubleshooting LPCVD and APCVD processes.