Author Topic: what's a durable bike tire that's also budget friendly?  (Read 15828 times)

nereo

• Senior Mustachian
    • Here's how you can support science today:
what's a durable bike tire that's also budget friendly?
« on: April 30, 2016, 05:01:32 PM »
I'll be replacing my commuter bike tires soon.  I want something with a medium thickness (700 x 30 or 32) but as durable as possible for riding on surface streets and packed gravel paths (slicks - no knobby tires).
I'm finding a dozen+ options out there and I have no idea which one(s) are better than the others.

Thoughts/ideas?

davisgang90

• Handlebar Stache
    • Photography by Rich Davis
Re: what's a durable bike tire that's also budget friendly?
« Reply #1 on: April 30, 2016, 06:02:40 PM »
I've been rolling on Continental Gatorskins for a couple years, they are great!!  No flats!

McStache

• Bristles
« Reply #2 on: April 30, 2016, 07:07:26 PM »
I've had the Specialized Armadillo tires on my bike for years and never had a flat

TooManyGuitars

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #3 on: April 30, 2016, 07:15:21 PM »
Continental gator skins or schwalbe duranos. 

sol

• Walrus Stache
« Reply #4 on: April 30, 2016, 07:17:33 PM »
Gatorskins have a good rep but are kind of spendy.  The Panaracer Ribmo's are typically about $10 cheaper per tire, and are basically the same thing (kevlar belted puncture proof, but slightly heavier than other tires).  I've been riding them for the past 8 years, and have had exactly one flat.  And it was due to a badly overworn tire, not a puncture.

HenryDavid

• Pencil Stache
« Reply #5 on: May 01, 2016, 07:03:05 AM »
Schwalbe marathon.
Watch for sales.

nereo

• Senior Mustachian
« Reply #6 on: May 01, 2016, 10:09:35 AM »
thanks all for the recommendations - seems gatorskins are popular but a bit pricy.  Schwalbe Marathon/Duranos too, plus a vote for Specialized Armadillo and Panaracer Ribmo.