Author Topic: VTSAX 13%+ gain YTD  (Read 28406 times)

BTDretire

• Magnum Stache
VTSAX 13%+ gain YTD
« on: December 28, 2016, 08:47:35 AM »
Just checked VTSAX for it's gain this year.
It's up about 12% plus another 1.82% of dividends.
 If you had your $1M in VTSAX and spent $40,000,
your portfolio still has and extra $90,000.
 May the good times continue.

OurTown

• Handlebar Stache
Re: VTSAX 13%+ gain YTD
« Reply #1 on: December 28, 2016, 09:00:46 AM »
May the odds be ever in your favor.

dougules

• Magnum Stache
« Reply #2 on: December 28, 2016, 09:50:09 AM »
If you're past FIRE, it's great.  If you're a few years out like me, it isn't a good thing. 

sol

• Walrus Stache
« Reply #3 on: December 28, 2016, 10:22:42 AM »
If you're past FIRE, it's great.  If you're a few years out like me, it isn't a good thing.

I was kind of hoping we would see a correction this year, so I wouldn't be tempted to punch out early.

Of course, I've been hoping that since the 2013 spike, so I probably shouldn't complain.

boarder42

• Walrus Stache
« Reply #4 on: December 28, 2016, 10:31:19 AM »
yeah i really want to see a good dip for 2 reasons:

1. i'm still buying so all that money can get in at a better price

2. i started full time work in 2010 i havent lived thru a large drawback just want to see what it does to me emotionally.

nawhite

• Handlebar Stache
    • The Reckless Choice
« Reply #5 on: December 28, 2016, 12:57:36 PM »

2. i started full time work in 2010 i havent lived thru a large drawback just want to see what it does to me emotionally.

I definitely agree with number 2. I need to see a drop before I fire just so that I know I can handle loosing $200k and stay the course. If I can't, I'd like to know that before I fire.

2Birds1Stone

• Walrus Stache
  • K Thnx Bye
« Reply #6 on: December 28, 2016, 01:11:27 PM »

I was kind of hoping we would see a correction this year, so I wouldn't be tempted to punch out early.