Author Topic: Ugh. FOOD help.  (Read 12641 times)

LurkingMustache

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Ugh. FOOD help.
« on: June 01, 2017, 07:11:45 AM »
Hello!  I am hoping for some guidance on my continuing food 'problem' that I haven't been able to solve for.  I am just not happy with the amount of money that I spend either eating out or on groceries - and the thing is, I'm just a terrible cook.  I would love to hear from folks that may have started out at 0 and fixed their food issue.  I do have a crock pot, but have never been able to find anything to make that is remotely appetizing - and I also do a lot of jiu jitsu and like to eat protein heavy meals.  Unfortunately, my chicken typically turns out to be a dry, terrible mess and I don't have a grill. 

Anyways, my numbers over the last three months:

May -
Groceries $151.09
Eating out $473.05

April -
Groceries $167.81
Eating out $400.20

Mar -
Groceries $328.49
Eating out $304.10 (Funny looking at this.. Saved $100 and added 200 to my grocery bill - eye roll)

I'm open to any suggestions.  Favorite easy recipes, best ways you learned to cook better, anything.  :)

swick

• Magnum Stache
Re: Ugh. FOOD help.
« Reply #1 on: June 01, 2017, 07:35:38 AM »
Not sure if you are the logical type (a guess based on the usual demographics for the forum) but if you are and you are starting from zero experience, I would spend some time on the "Cooking for Engineers" blog. They have a ton on equipment and theory and all that, skip that for now and just go to the recipes. They are step-by-step with pictures and the layout of their recipes makes a lot of sense. Nothing worse when trying to learn how to cook and recipes are not written well.

http://www.cookingforengineers.com/

The thing with cooking is it is a skillset that can absolutely be learned. If the above site doesn't work for you it might be worth it to sign up for some in-person classes, look up some youtube videos or find a way that matches your preferred learning style.