Author Topic: The Non-negotiable Tithe  (Read 63864 times)

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
Re: The Non-negotiable Tithe
« Reply #200 on: February 22, 2017, 09:49:54 PM »
I don't see how this is much different in effect than me be non-negotiable on paying taxes (which I am, less because of a moral belief and more because jail sucks).  Taxes cost me more than 10%.  To say me paying my taxes then makes cutting too tough or early retirement impossible is a cop out.
Taxes are not optional -- in the sense that there is a physical authority that will compel you to pay them. They are quite different from tithes in that regard.

The premise of this thread was the "non-negotiable" tithe (i.e. mandatory)--it's in the thread title.  :)

Sure, for some people they're optional. The person you're quoting was addressing the people who they aren't optional (by choice, yes).
I am a former teacher who accumulated a bunch of real estate, retired at 29, spent some time traveling the world full time and am now settled with three kids.
If you want to know more about me, this Business Insider profile tells the story pretty well.
I (rarely) blog at AdventuringAlong.com. Check out the Now page to see what I'm up to currently.

Much Fishing to Do

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #201 on: February 23, 2017, 05:54:33 AM »
I don't see how this is much different in effect than me be non-negotiable on paying taxes (which I am, less because of a moral belief and more because jail sucks).  Taxes cost me more than 10%.  To say me paying my taxes then makes cutting too tough or early retirement impossible is a cop out.
Taxes are not optional -- in the sense that there is a physical authority that will compel you to pay them. They are quite different from tithes in that regard.
Maybe I used the wrongs words with "in effect", I'm just saying that if say congress today raised everyone's tax obligation by 10% we wouldn't jump straight to conclusions like in the original post: