Author Topic: The Groceries in Hawaii Situation  (Read 9212 times)

englishteacheralex

• Magnum Stache
The Groceries in Hawaii Situation
« on: October 25, 2016, 03:19:34 PM »
I've lived on Oahu for my entire adult life, since I graduated from college in 2003. All of my personal grocery shopping has been done on an island that imports some enormous percentage of its food. I never really suffered sticker shock from living here, because I don't have much basis for comparison...except my husband and I go home to visit family and we sail through the grocery store putting everything in our cart because it all seems FREE SO CHEAP LOOK AT ALL THE ALMOST FREE FOOD HA HA HA HA WE CAN GET ANYTHING WE WANT!

We keep a detailed and rigorous monthly budget, and this month is about to be a record low for food, for which we are gleefully proud. Only $450 for the month so far (we're a family of two adults and one toddler) and we're almost done! Only $43 for restaurants! Our allocated monthly food budget is $650 for groceries/$100 for restaurants, down from $700 for groceries/$200 for restaurants when I first started reading MMM's blog in June.

But...when I read mainland grocery budgets of <$400 for families of four, I become discouraged. I thought I'd post some typical food prices for staples here (these prices are all for the non Organic, non brand name food we typically buy) to see if I have a good excuse.

Bananas: $.39/banana at Target, $1.19/lb at Safeway, $1.50 for a bunch of 5-7 at Costco
Apples: anywhere from $2/lb to 3.49/lb at Safeway, about $10 for a flat of 10 at Costco
Lettuce: $5 for 1-2 heads of romaine at Safeway, $5 for 5 heads of romaine at Costco
Chicken breasts: $5-7/lb at Safeway, $3.50/lb at Costco
Ground beef: $4/lb at Safeway, $3/lb at Costco
Pork shoulder: never bought this at Safeway, $2.50/lb at Costco
Bread: $6/bagged loaf of commercial bread at Safeway, $7/two loaves of the same bread at Costco
Milk: $5.19/gallon at Target, $4.49/gallon at Costco