Author Topic: Teacher Discussion  (Read 16216 times)

westtoeast

• Bristles
Teacher Discussion
« on: October 19, 2016, 04:25:15 PM »
Hi all,

Seems to me there are quite a few teachers here on MMM. I was wondering if teacher folks would be interested in a teacher specific thread to ask questions and share ideas on. This might be helpful since we all work with fairly similar salaries and teaching brings up a lot of specific financial issues.

If you are interested, reply with the state you teach in (and any other details you want to share)!

I'll start...
I teach in an urban district in Massachusetts & I'm a 3rd year teacher. 2 more years until loan forgiveness!

Also, would a journal be a better platform for this? I wasn't sure.
« Last Edit: October 19, 2016, 05:34:23 PM by westtoeast »

JG in Hangzhou

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Re: Teacher Discussion
« Reply #1 on: October 19, 2016, 04:45:09 PM »
I'll bite for two.
My sister and brother in law are teachers in upstate New York. Hoping to get them on this thread.
My wife and I live and China and run a small education business.  We have hit our FI goal, but for now, feel like running the school is rewarding and provides additional income. 
Interested to hear what's happening with other teaching folks in this community.

mancityfan

• Stubble
« Reply #2 on: October 19, 2016, 05:09:55 PM »
In Maryland. 18 years in teaching. 53 yo presently. Hoping to retire before 60!

Teachstache

• Stubble
« Reply #3 on: October 19, 2016, 05:21:01 PM »
Nebraska, 12th year teaching in a large, urban district. Spouse works for a community college. I get a defined benefit pension after 30 years. Spouse has a traditional 403b. We are maxing out two 403b plans, my allowable pension contribution, $6k in a 457 plan that spouse has. We are contributing $300/month to our 18 month old son's 529 plan.

I use my summer time and one night a week each semester to adjunct for a local university.