Author Topic: Struggling with resentment about choices  (Read 10982 times)

Izybat

• Stubble
Struggling with resentment about choices
« on: July 18, 2017, 05:10:06 PM »
I'm relatively new to the whole Mustachian world, only having found the site last year. I'm also relatively new to this whole 'having my financial sh*t together" world, having just started buckling down about it two years ago. I've been working diligently to get DH and I out of debt  (just the car loan left!), but because of that, our savings rate is relatively low (not including our 401ks). Ever since figuring out that FIRE was something that was possible, I've wanted it more and more. I really dislike my job, and more to the point, I really dislike my current career field. The issue is that my career pays very well.

Where I'm currently struggling is that I now look around and every decision we've made in the past (and some future plans) and resent money spent that isn't really being used (like a $700 keyboard piano no one plays), or that I now have to live with for long term, which means our bills can only go so low.  For example, we have a 160+ year old house that takes a lot in mortgage cost, maintenance, and utilities. We also have 6 pets, two giant dogs and four cats. (There's plenty more like that.)

My issues stem from wishing I had found out about FIRE a long time ago, so I could have made very different decisions in life, and now not wanting to spend a dime on anything so that I can accelerate this process and let me leave my job sooner.

Does anyone else struggle with this? Any tips or advice? We are years away from FIRE (so far away I haven't even bothered to try to calculate it), so I have to come up with something so that I don't drive myself insane.

VoteCthulu

• Bristles
Re: Struggling with resentment about choices
« Reply #1 on: July 18, 2017, 05:26:23 PM »