Author Topic: Stock Market Rigged for Average investors!! 60 minutes  (Read 15619 times)

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
Re: Stock Market Rigged for Average investors!! 60 minutes
« Reply #1 on: March 31, 2014, 07:45:23 AM »
I hate headlines like that.

The whole market isn't "rigged."  High Frequency Trading exists.  It makes short term trading very difficult.

For those of us who buy and hold and view stocks as ownership of a company (and would be fine owning those companies if the market shut off for 10 years ala Buffett), a fraction of a percent higher on the purchase price due to HFT doesn't affect us in the slightest.
I am a former teacher who accumulated a bunch of real estate, retired at 29, spent some time traveling the world full time and am now settled with three kids.
If you want to know more about me, this Business Insider profile tells the story pretty well.
I (rarely) blog at AdventuringAlong.com. Check out the Now page to see what I'm up to currently.

hybrid

• Handlebar Stache
  • A hybrid of MMM and thoughtful consumer.
« Reply #2 on: March 31, 2014, 08:03:30 AM »
I watched the report last night and am aware of high frequency trading and the perversions it creates. But if I were considered an average investor who trades a fair bit, and I guess I am, it's not the sort of thing that affects me. I have more trading tools available to me than ever (especially the trade trigger, which fires off a trade when a particular condition is met), and a penny or two difference on a trade won't affect me in the long term.

I still find the whole thing troubling however, and I hope some common sense reforms are in store going forward (such as limiting the number of times a stock can be bought and sold in a day).

soccerluvof4

• Walrus Stache
  • Retired at 50
    • My Journal
« Reply #3 on: March 31, 2014, 08:14:05 AM »