Author Topic: Sports - damn it is expensive!  (Read 10747 times)

BrandonP

• Stubble
Sports - damn it is expensive!
« on: August 02, 2015, 06:42:14 PM »
Following sports can be very pricey!

The subscription, going to games, the jerseys etc etc.

I love following quite a few sports though. I like going to the odd live game. And I have a hockey subscription ($200 per season before tax!). But I get a lot of enjoyment out of it. For that money (say $400 max a season) brings me a lot of joy. It's pricey but as with a lot of things (cost benefit analysis) it can be worth it.

Cougar

• Bristles
Re: Sports - damn it is expensive!
« Reply #1 on: August 02, 2015, 09:42:37 PM »

i think thats reasonable.

some here dropped sports entirely, but if you enjoy it; enjoy it; just dont give up your monetary/retirement goals for it. it shouldnt be much more than your monthly phone bill imo.

one of thoughts/sayings i have come up with is to not pay or help pay to make someone else rich and professional sports definitely fits that.

sol

• Walrus Stache
« Reply #2 on: August 02, 2015, 10:04:27 PM »

You think $400/year is reasonable?  For something you can do for free?

If you make the US median individual wage of ~27k/year, then that $400 investment is about 1.5% of your total income.  Remember that at low savings rates, each extra 1% of income that you divert to savings instead of spending buys you over two years of earlier retirement.  So that $400/year sports subscription commits you to working about three extra years.

It's pricey but as with a lot of things (cost benefit analysis) it can be worth it.