Author Topic: Shopping at Aldi's  (Read 165277 times)

ZiziPB

• Magnum Stache
Re: Shopping at Aldi's
« Reply #250 on: May 31, 2016, 02:29:44 PM »
My local Aldi was closed yesterday for the holiday. Although this was inconvenient for me personally, it actually made me feel good that the company lets its workers enjoy a national holiday. That's so rare when you work retail.

The only two grocery stores in my area that are closed for Thanksgiving are Publix and Aldi's. I worked in retail briefly once upon a time, and now I make a point to support businesses that treat their employees like humans. There is no price low enough to justify treating a person the way WalMart treats its employees.

Ours was closed yesterday too.  And they have a sign for open cashier positions paying $12.75 an hour which is what Costco pays (min wage is $9.60 in CT).  It's good to see business treat their employees semi-decently.

esq

• Bristles
« Reply #251 on: June 01, 2016, 06:34:51 PM »
I'm always amazed at how the Aldi cashiers are allowed to sit.  You never see that anywhere else, and it's a small thing that makes a big difference.  Why don't other stores allow this?

Neustache

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #252 on: June 01, 2016, 07:25:06 PM »
I'm always amazed at how the Aldi cashiers are allowed to sit.  You never see that anywhere else, and it's a small thing that makes a big difference.  Why don't other stores allow this?

Former cashier, and I don't know why that is!  I love it.  Although standing is helpful if you are bagging, and aldi's cashiers don't bag, so maybe that's part of it. 

ZiziPB

• Magnum Stache
« Reply #253 on: June 02, 2016, 10:28:51 AM »

Former cashier, and I don't know why that is!  I love it.  Although standing is helpful if you are bagging, and aldi's cashiers don't bag, so maybe that's part of it.

Maybe that's due to the fact that it is a German company? Cashiers sit at most of Europeans grocery stores. 

LennStar

• Magnum Stache