Author Topic: Say Hi and Introduce Yourself  (Read 3317657 times)

ioseftavi

• Bristles
Re: Say Hi and Introduce Yourself
« Reply #600 on: May 22, 2013, 01:17:43 PM »
Hi folks. 

I'm 28 and considered myself "above average" as a saver and investor, given that I had been saving something like a fourth or a third of my income since graduation (mostly in the form of retirement accounts, plus some after-tax savings).  However after stumbling on this blog, I see that I can do even better still.  I aim to try!

gardenarian

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #601 on: May 22, 2013, 03:19:35 PM »
Hi, I'm Gardenarian. I'm a librarian and I like to garden.

exitstrategy

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #602 on: May 22, 2013, 07:42:06 PM »
Appreciate the thoughtful blog, and the great discussion in the forum. 

My husband and I are ~40, 2 kids...used to be very frugal, but got a bit too spendy the past few years because it was easy.
We own a business, so don't always have a regular salary amount (for better or worse), but have also been diversifying into owning investment properties (commercial and residential).  A slow year last year while simultaneously making a property purchase means we've spent almost all of our cash reserves...but the good news is we spent the few years prior focusing on paying off debt: retired $60k in student loans and $30k in HELOC.  No car loans or CC balances, but mortgages on residence and investment properties.

Happy to be here, am sure I'll learn a lot!

DebtBaby

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #603 on: May 23, 2013, 02:07:12 PM »
Hello :-)

I'm 24 and from a north east USA small state that everyone seems to love to hate (well, maybe just NYers). Currently, I am residing in Atlanta.  My mantra up until recently has always been "go big or go home." While that mantra has definitely helped in other areas of my life, it never helped when applied to my finances.