Author Topic: Robots and their impact on the future  (Read 538014 times)

Bakari

• Handlebar Stache
  • Veggie Powered Handyman
    • The Flamboyant Introvert
Re: Robots and their impact on the future
« Reply #1100 on: January 03, 2017, 06:49:58 PM »
I don't think it is endlessly recursive.  I build simulations for a living, and every single one is a simplification of a more complex system, but designed to capture the relevant characteristics and behaviors being studied....

But of course!  I think this is a fundamental flaw in all of the proposals that we are "likely" to be in a simulation.  They are dependent on the assumption that the model would in fact capture every detail of reality. 

What is the relevant characteristics being studied?  If it is quantum/atomic level physics, why would you model an entire universe?  If its astronomical level physics, why program in quantum effects, and not just relativity?  If it is conscious living things, why model either of the former?  If it is anything other then conscious things, why add in all the complex variables that are necessary to foster self-awareness?

This is why I asked about motivation earlier.  In order to run an "ancestor" simulation, or a "video game", there would be absolutely no need to model individual sub-atomic particles or distant galaxies, which 99.9% of living things will never see, and the existence of which will not affect in any way - UNLESS, they really are composed of those atoms.  The complexity of observed reality suggests that there is not in fact the simplification one would expect of any simulation.

And what answer would an atheist environmentalist tell the religious person?  They don't need God for meaning.  IF it is a universe created and one that could be destroyed on a whim, by God (or programmer, running a simulation) doesn't necessarily remove meaning, depending on how you define that meaning.