Author Topic: Reality Check  (Read 3884 times)

cambeiu

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Reality Check
« on: May 30, 2016, 05:28:15 PM »
Hi,

I am new to the MMM website, although I am somewhat of a veteran in this wonderful FI journey. As a way to introduce myself to this community, I would like to share my current status and see what you guys think. As someone who suffers from a lot of anxiety and somewhat of a "bunker mentality", it is hard for me to evaluate in an objective way if I could retire or not. Honest feedback greatly appreciated.

42 years old male. Married. No kids and no plans on having any.
Pre-tax household income: $284,000. (High COL area)
Debt (mortgage\credit card\auto\student loans\etc...): $0
Total monthly expenses (including maintenance of primary + rental home): ~$4,000.00
Assets:
Cash - $214,000.69 (@1.05% APY)
US Treasury Bonds - $40,000 (@multiple rates)
401K - $383,000.00 (@Vanguard Target Retirement 2035)
Vanguard Standard Investment Account - $42,000 (@VSMGX)
Sharebuilder - $317,000 (@multiple ETFs)
Lending Club - $61,000 (@7.3% APY)
Roth IRA - $37,000.00 (@multiple ETFs)
RSUs - $212,000.00
Primary home - ~$500,000 (100% paid off)
Rental home- ~600,000 (100% paid off) - generates $3,000/month gross income.

Murse

• Pencil Stache
Re: Reality Check
« Reply #1 on: May 30, 2016, 06:01:18 PM »
The answer is yes if you living expenses are correct. Judging by your income/ assets it doesn't seem your living expenses are what you say they are, unless you haven't had that income very long.

Cassie

• Walrus Stache
« Reply #2 on: May 30, 2016, 06:02:02 PM »
You need to figure out what you want to spend yearly in retirement?  that will go far in figuring out how much is enough.

cambeiu

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #3 on: May 30, 2016, 06:05:01 PM »
The answer is yes if you living expenses are correct. Judging by your income/ assets it doesn't seem your living expenses are what you say they are, unless you haven't had that income very long.