Author Topic: Question about Building Credit  (Read 4930 times)

dragonstache

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Question about Building Credit
« on: August 03, 2015, 01:43:55 PM »
Hey All,

I'm a student and have made it to my mid 20s without a credit card. I'd like to start building my credit. I've been hearing the best way to do this is by getting a credit card and putting small purchases on it every month and paying it off. I'm willing to do this, I know MMM has a recommended cards link, but I'm pretty happy with BOA and might stick with them. Here is my question though- can anyone recommend me good resources like blogs and articles that explain how a credit score is calculated? I want to understand how credit works so I can work to build good credit most effectively.

Thanks in advance.

Bob W

• Magnum Stache
  • Live on minimum wage, earn on maximum
Re: Question about Building Credit
« Reply #1 on: August 03, 2015, 01:55:57 PM »
I believe that creditkarma has recommendations and a forum with additional ideas.

In my understanding credit scores are based on a variety of factors.

Available credit,  credit used, length of credit, types of credit,  number of creditors.   If you sign up for CK they will give you a little synopsis showing the importance of each of the areas and your rating in that area such as poor or good.

It is free and not necessarily 100% on target but fairly close enough for your purposes.  Dave Ramsey might say to never have a credit score,  but thankfully we know better here, as you can easily garners thousands of dollars in cash and travel bonuses each year by using credit rewards programs. 

Liz

• Stubble
« Reply #2 on: August 03, 2015, 01:57:51 PM »
I would check out creditboards.com

dragonstache

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #3 on: August 03, 2015, 02:19:47 PM »