Author Topic: Paleo anyone?  (Read 36506 times)

Bob W

• Magnum Stache
  • Live on minimum wage, earn on maximum
Re: Paleo anyone?
« Reply #50 on: July 07, 2014, 11:52:40 AM »
I've been trying to eat a lot more veggies and go to the gym 3x a week plus bike commute to work. I'm overweight and have had zero luck loosing any of the excess weight.

I don't buy junk food, none, at all. I do still eat bread (no pasta really, I've found it doesn't fill me up). Maybe that is my problem.

Any recommendations on how to get started trying paleo?

This is a little off topic, but I want to suggest trying sprints and intervals at high intensity if you are not already. I've been reading that burns fat much better than long duration cardio stuff. The Primal Blueprint Fitness Plan ebook has some good stuff in it; you can get it from the Mark's Daily Apple website for free. Eating less is the obvious answer; most people are not good at that because they can't stand being hungry. I'm no doctor, but some people have medical conditions, like thyroid problems, that make it hard to maintain an ideal weight. Good luck!

Thanks for your reply ---  I am substantially overweight currently.   My plan is to drop 30 pounds and gradually work up to HIT exercises and heavy weights.   I am not doing that now out of fear of dying.  Heart problem in recent past.   

eyePod

• Pencil Stache
    • Flipping A Dollar
« Reply #51 on: July 07, 2014, 01:35:07 PM »
My wife and I did Whole30 for 30 days (Paleo on crack) - Meats, fruits, veggies, nuts. NOTHING ELSE added. They even try to limit some of your nightshades and other stuff. Tough to stay up to date because they come out with a new version every so often to keep the money.

Sustainable? Probably but it would be very hard.

Fun? Nope, but the first 2 weeks were much harder than the last 2. Routine and planning were key.

Did I find out that I get the shits from a glass of milk but am fine eating ice cream? Most definitely.