Author Topic: New Yorker Article: The Scold - Mr. Money Mustache’s retirement (sort of) plan  (Read 173069 times)

exmmmer

• 5 O'Clock Shadow

"Hi there. If we haven’t met, my name is Mr. Money Mustache. I’m the freaky financial magician who retired along with a lovely wife at age 30 in order to start a family, as well as start living a great life."

where did you find this quote?

Probably here...

http://www.mrmoneymustache.com/2013/02/22/getting-rich-from-zero-to-hero-in-one-blog-post/

RetiredAt63

• CMTO 2023 Attendees
  • Senior Mustachian
I also tend not to worry about who is what.  Some threads are gender neutral, some are specific - men's grooming doesn't really affect me  ;-)  Many are thought-provoking (and/or amusing), and that is what counts.

It's funny about Biology, back when I was an undergrad most of the women were in Botany and Cell Biology, while most of the men were in Zoology and Ecology.  There have been huge shifts.  But yes, faculty is still lop-sided.  Just like politics.  Sigh.

Another one!  And here I just posted a lovely analytical discussion of stats and science on your journal!  Just for general consumption, the last advanced stats course I audited was about 50:50, and the TA's were grad students, 1 XX and 1 XY.  Engineering and science and math do not belong exclusively to the men.

I don't have an avatar, for exactly that reason.  Brooklyn Guy is protean. 

I really did appreciate the comment on my journal, btw.  To be clear I really don't give much thought about whether a poster is XX or XY unless it's keenly obvious (e.g. people who use their 'real' headshot as their avatar, like 'rebs... pretty sure he's a dude) and I'm largely just having fun here calling people plants etc. 

As for the gender composition in our department (biology), it's slightly XX heavy at the undergrad level and very XX heavy at the graduate student level.  In terms of tenure-track professors it's the reverse, 13 out of the 18 full time faculty are male.