Author Topic: Monetary policy / ARM mortgage  (Read 3332 times)

cube.37

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Monetary policy / ARM mortgage
« on: October 21, 2016, 01:43:00 PM »
Hi all,

1.5 years ago my wife and I purchased a house. I did quite a bit of research back then on housing and the types of mortgages, but relative to today, was a total noob.

We ended up doing a 7/1 ARM at 3.25%, capped at 8.25% (minimum 2.25%). My reasoning was that we agreed we would not be staying in the house for more than 7 years (by then we will likely have children and need to move away, likely to the suburbs), while 5 years was still questionable. In addition to that, because the property is inside Boston, it would give very poor returns as a rental property. (side note - my upstairs is rented out and with the rental pricing they shared with me + the costs of using a property manager, there is no way they are getting a worthy return). There is a chance the property can appreciate rapidly because we're in a developing area, but 5.5 years down the road it will likely slow down and even then, it would be a speculative real estate investment versus a cash flowing rental (i want the latter).

With all that in mind, we decided to do the 7/1 ARM. However, I am now realizing that even if we do stick with the plan and move out near the end of year 7, there could be another housing crash right beforehand and we could just be stuck with a home with high rates.

My question is: if there is another housing market crash right before our scheduled time to sell the house, is there a reason the fed wouldn't bring down the interest rates in response to the crash? If the rates go back down in response to a housing crisis, I see no downside - yes we might not be able to sell the house, but the monthly payments wont go up either so we can just wait it out. Or is there another reason I should change to a fixed rate before rates possibly go up later this year?