Author Topic: Millennial Mustaches Out There?  (Read 87815 times)

Aprés-ski

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Re: Millennial Mustaches Out There?
« Reply #100 on: December 29, 2014, 12:46:43 PM »
Age 28, Sacramento CA.

How did you find MMM?
Marks Daily Apple had a weekend love link back in 2013. I sat down and devoured all of MMM's content in a weekend. Went to Burning Man shortly after the MMM discovery and decided that I didn't want to slave my life away to company (how cliché, I know). So here I am!

Were you always Mustachian?
I've always been debt adverse. I'm a relative newb to wealth building. Both grandparents amassed considerable wealth in real estate and have been able to live abroad 6 months a year.  I want to follow in their footsteps.

Savings / Debt Elimination Goals
1. Got my savings rate to 50%+ and no debt.
2. Saving to get my first multifamily property. I plan on living in a unit.
3. I'm in no rush to RE, but FI would allow me to live comfortably while traveling and volunteering my time with Doctors Without Borders and Mercy Ships.

So much of this Millennial vs. Boomer diatribe is silly.  Some Boomers lost their shirts with the recession, stayed in the workforce, and now the Millennials apply to 200 jobs only to get 1 phone call. Sucks for both sides.  We will all survive.

freeedom

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #101 on: December 29, 2014, 01:20:33 PM »
29. Software Engineer. Net worth of approximately 100k (80k investments, 20k house).

I found MMM about the time I had to start paying back my student loans. It went from 30k to 10k in about 1.5 years, with approximate 1/2 a year left.

I've always been pretty decent with money though, and recently increased my 401k contribution. 2014 I will contribute about 15k to roth/401k. 2015 I will contribute 20k. And 2016 onward the goal is to contribute the max (+ some in a taxable accounts).