Author Topic: Lots of recruiters contacting me...with shitty jobs. What's going on?  (Read 4514 times)

rothwem

• Handlebar Stache
I'm an engineer with 14 years of experience, so maybe I'm in a weird middle ground between "mid-level experienced" and "consulting/staff" engineer. Still, in the last few months I've been completely bombarded on LinkedIn with recruiters offering me positions that I'm massively overqualifed for that pay 60-70% of what I'm making right now.  I'm pretty sure they're legit jobs and not spam, but why would a recruiter think that I'd want to take a pay cut? Or move to California/[insert HCOL place] AND take a pay cut?

Is this a common thing these days? 

rantk81

• Pencil Stache
Re: Lots of recruiters contacting me...with shitty jobs. What's going on?
« Reply #1 on: March 17, 2023, 07:26:37 AM »
I'm an engineer with 14 years of experience, so maybe I'm in a weird middle ground between "mid-level experienced" and "consulting/staff" engineer. Still, in the last few months I've been completely bombarded on LinkedIn with recruiters offering me positions that I'm massively overqualifed for that pay 60-70% of what I'm making right now.  I'm pretty sure they're legit jobs and not spam, but why would a recruiter think that I'd want to take a pay cut? Or move to California/[insert HCOL place] AND take a pay cut?

I think you're giving them too much "credit" as if they are actually taking anything about you into consideration.  In my experience, they're probably borderline-spammers that are just running a script to try to harvest as many potential candidates for any roles that they are recruiting for.  It's a numbers game to them.  They get a "finders fee" for anyone they can place in a new job.

Ron Scott

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #2 on: March 17, 2023, 07:54:58 AM »

I’ve seen 2 good strategies for dealing with headhunters.