Author Topic: Living on $1000 a month  (Read 17547 times)

Asgard01

• Stubble
Living on $1000 a month
« on: June 06, 2014, 10:10:50 AM »
Hi all,

I have a target of $1000 a month in passive income after 5 years. I just wondered if there are many on here right now that are living on this amount currently and how their experience has been of sticking to that $1000 amount. 

What I have done as I am fairly new to this is started to record all my expenses to the penny to see if I can live life now for that amount when minus the extra fuel and work expenses I will not have when I reach that target. I managed to spend $1100 last month. Big yearly purchases are included but what I do not account for is much unexpected outgoings and perhaps some more activity based expenses that I may incur.

I must say that I've really enjoyed tracking my spending which is something I wouldn't have thought. It gives me much more confidence knowing that I can live on that planned amount and also I don't feel guilty for spending like I thought I would, I feel I get a lot of value out of everything I do spend money on. Been influenced by your money or your life no doubt.

Chris
« Last Edit: June 06, 2014, 10:15:43 AM by Asgard01 »

Bearded Man

• Handlebar Stache
Re: Living on $1000 a month
« Reply #1 on: June 06, 2014, 10:25:07 AM »
I paid for my first house in cash, so with the single biggest expense most people have out of the way and no kids, I was living on 1K a month or less. I didn't really like the house location due to noise, and bought a new house in a better location with a mortgage. While I could pay it off, I don't due to the low interest rate and investment opportunities for my cash. Plus, with the rents from my first house which is now a rental, my tenants are basically paying the mortgage on my new house closer to my work not to mention the best job market.