Author Topic: Let's talk San Diego again, 2021  (Read 2937 times)

Dibbels81

• Stubble
Let's talk San Diego again, 2021
« on: June 07, 2021, 06:01:32 AM »
Howdy all,

My wife and I have been California dreamin' for a while now, and as luck has it I received a solid job offer from a company in SD. I'm a medical professional, as if my wife. Offer was for $46 an hour plus full benefits (med pros chip in if that is a good rate for the area.) This is at an upscale assisted living/SNF type setting. We used to live in Las Vegas and we miss the sunshine and mountain hiking. I loved the hot weather but the wife almost melted in July. Hence the San Diego pursuit. We've visited a few times and loved it, though not for a couple of years now.

I would love to hear from the MMM community of their experiences living in SD the past couple years. Overall, is it worth it for you, considering the very high cost of living? We'd be downsizing from a spacious townhouse in northern IL to likely at 1 bed condo...for more money. I'm fine with small spaces, though I'm nervous about annoying neighbors/barking dogs, etc. Questions: Is San Diego a bike friendly town for commuting? How are grocery prices? Other cost of living expenses that took you by surprise? (gas prices look brutal). Has crime become worse, as it has in LA? Is the outdoor recreation as good as my google map searches tell me it is? I'm late 30's, wife is early 30's. A baby could be on the way within 3-4 years. Are schools adequate in SD?