Author Topic: Is job hopping mandatory?  (Read 18900 times)

druth

• Bristles
Is job hopping mandatory?
« on: August 04, 2016, 11:38:36 AM »
I read about companies saying they can't retain talent because nobody is loyal anymore.  I actually was pretty loyal to my company and would have stayed on but I had a recent experience that definitely tainted my view.  I was told I would get a promotion and probably a 10-20% raise, but HR turned it around because I have 2 years 8 months field experience instead of 3 years.  So now I can wait around another year for my promotion or I can just go somewhere else and get probably a 40% raise.

Boyfriend felt he was hired at too low of a title, wanted a higher title and a raise, boss said yes but HR said he needed to wait for some amount of time at the company.  He was only originally looking for a 10-20% raise but instead found a 50% raise.  His original company had a hair on fire emergency when he said he was leaving and offered to go above 50% (when they wouldn't even do 10% before), but he left anyways.

Is it even possible to NOT job hop these days?  Are there any companies that actually value loyalty back?  It seems job hopping isn't a symptom of employee disloyalty, but employer disloyalty.

bacchi

• Walrus Stache
Re: Is job hopping mandatory?
« Reply #1 on: August 04, 2016, 11:46:50 AM »
Changing jobs to get a raise has been a truism for many years (decades?), long before employers were complaining about job loyalty.

It's simply a fact that businesses will try to keep costs low. One way to do this is to not pay employees what they're worth (after the initial wine-and-dine). It's short-term thinking but that's what passes for business strategy.

neo von retorch

• Magnum Stache
    • Fi@retorch - personal finance tracking
« Reply #2 on: August 04, 2016, 11:48:13 AM »