Author Topic: iPhone/Android App Development?  (Read 4440 times)

ceh

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
iPhone/Android App Development?
« on: January 23, 2013, 11:01:52 AM »
Has anyone here tried their hand at app development to produce passive income?  I did a quick search, but I didn't see any posts about this particular subject.  I have some programming experience, and I've thought off and on about how cool it would be to make an app, and possibly profit off of it.  Depending on the complexity of programming required, it might be a decent payoff.  On Android, you can make a free version that shows ads, so you can get paid that way(similar to google adsense for blogs).  On iPhone, I don't know if an ad system works, but you could always just price it at $0.99-$1.99 and hope people find it useful enough.  I was just wondering if anyone else had tried it out.  I have an idea that I'm thinking about, so if anyone is interested in the process, I can document it in the journal section of the forums.  At least then I will publicly put myself out there and have people holding me accountable.

jdoolin

• Stubble
    • Just My Blog
Re: iPhone/Android App Development?
« Reply #1 on: January 23, 2013, 11:16:25 AM »
I'm doing a bit of that now myself, however I've got it a bit easier.  Most of last year my primary income was as a contractor for a small company that developed mobile apps.  I was on their payroll for a couple months before I got my current job as a community college instructor.  Anyway, I still do work for them on a contract basis, and will probably really ramp it up in the summer when I'll have oodles of free time.

Best thing to do is reinvent some simple game that people stopped playing decades ago (like scrabble) and let people play it over the network. :-P

Unfortunately I can't relate any experience of personally developing and deploying mobile apps, nor even using ads.  None of the apps I've worked on used ads.

iamlindoro

• Handlebar Stache
    • The Earth Awaits