Author Topic: I make $500,000 a year and I still ride a scooter  (Read 17204 times)

Camarillo Brillo

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Re: I make $500,000 a year and I still ride a scooter
« Reply #50 on: November 27, 2015, 08:32:39 PM »
No bashing. But I'm curious what line of work you're in that you make 800k a year, and why you're on the forum. Do you plan on retiring soon? You're already FI.
I'm on the exec management team at a company with sales in excess of 1B, and I'm responsible for one of the functional departments. We've been doing a solid job managing the company and are highly profitable.  As a result, we're all highly compensated.  My background is in high-tech with 20 years in silicon valley although I now reside in a very low cost of living area in the Midwest.

I will retire in either 24 or 30 months, but I'll still have 1 kid in school then.  I've tried writing this reply a few times but I keep deleting it because it's not coming out right. 

The other factor I need to consider is that I have a serious health issue that's plagued me since I was 26.  It's hereditary and the same thing killed my dad when he was 35.  I realize it's silly to keep working but my job is very easy, I take off almost 7 weeks a year, take off most Fridays, and the job can be a lot of fun.  I just need to give my self a kick in the ass and call it a day.

Melody

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #51 on: November 27, 2015, 11:18:43 PM »
I make $120k and ride a scooter... I am a girl tho, so probably will not be copping the same flack for it as a bloke. Riding scooters is fun why would you stop!

GuitarStv

• Senior Mustachian
« Reply #52 on: November 28, 2015, 07:42:14 AM »
It's even manlier if you do it wearing a pink tutu and a tube top. :)

Nonsense.  Real men ride to work in garishly colored form fitting spandex.

It is true, nothing says manly like neon yellow nut huggers.