Author Topic: I feel like I'm running away from work anxiety more often  (Read 4444 times)

k290

• Stubble
I feel like I'm running away from work anxiety more often
« on: September 15, 2021, 10:42:09 PM »
I work in the software industry, in consulting mostly. In my career there have been times where work has been manageable.

However, I'm finding that as my stache grows, I'm starting to job hop more often and take a few months of unpaid vacation in between. e.g. I've only lasted a year at my current employer.

Also if we get hit with ridiculous workloads or deadlines, I'm more likely to call in sick than I was in my 20s, as my mental health takes a beating as I suffer from Generalised Anxiety. This screws over my colleagues as they have to pick up the slack.

I'm kind of afraid that all this will bite me. I would have thought that after 5 years in this industry I'd be more resillient. But I feel like I've become weaker and eventually I'll be living on the street.

I'm incredibly fortunate that I have a reasonable stache built up, so I feel a bit more secure, but I'm not anywhere near FIRE yet. Maybe half way.

There isn't really a question here. I guess I just need someone to tell me I'm not a bad person and a failure. But reading the above it seems like I am a failure because with even having done therapy and years of experience it seems I've gotten worse. And I am a bad person because I know it screws over my colleagues once or twice a year.
« Last Edit: September 15, 2021, 10:46:49 PM by k290 »

Morning Glory

• Magnum Stache
Re: I feel like I'm running away from work anxiety more often
« Reply #1 on: September 16, 2021, 12:20:34 AM »
You are not the one screwing over your colleagues. People get sick.  It's inevitable.  You're not a robot  or some kind of superhero.  Th employer should have a plan for this eventuality.  If they don't,  then they are the one screwing over your colleagues, not you.