Author Topic: How to be a mustachian golfer?  (Read 7187 times)

BrandNewPapa

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
How to be a mustachian golfer?
« on: July 06, 2017, 10:55:04 AM »
So I've been golfing for a few years, and I love it.

But the cost is killing me.

Not so much the equipment, that is mostly upfront cost and in the past. I bought my woods and driver used, balls and tees are cheap.

It's the price of each round. If I want to golf 2x a month, I'm looking at $80-100/month. Seems excessive.

I used to have a great budget course near me that was $26 for a round with cart on the weekend, but they sold to a builder last summer and shut down. I work full time and have a young daughter, so weekday golf doesn't really work for me.

Anyone have tips on how to save while golfing?

LifeHappens

• Senior Mustachian
Re: How to be a mustachian golfer?
« Reply #1 on: July 06, 2017, 11:10:26 AM »
I don't golf anymore, but I was a pretty good high school golfer and managed okay on a student's budget. This is what I did to save $:
1) Had a job at a course. Golfed for free. If you have the time you might be able to pick up work as a ranger in exchange for free rounds.
2) Use coupons. Most areas have coupon books you can buy that get you rounds for 1/2 price or less. If you're going out at least a couple times a month and don't mind driving to different courses all the time they are worth the investment.
3) Buy a membership. Lots of courses sell season passes. If you're okay with playing the same course often they can be a great deal.
4) Find courses that have off-peak rates. Lots of courses have twilight or weekday rates or reduce their greens fees near the end of the season.
5) Hit the driving range instead of playing a round. If you just want to swing the club, go to the driving range, hit a bucket of balls and practice on the putting green. This might scratch your itch and keep you sharp.

Bonus tip: get good and gamble for greens fees ;)

BiggerFishToFI

• Stubble