Author Topic: How much house can I afford?  (Read 8029 times)

randy7

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
How much house can I afford?
« on: March 18, 2015, 09:10:12 PM »
I am 26 years old living in a major city and I work in tech making about 70k a year. I have decent size investment account that i have amassed through some more than lucky investments.  I'm just curious how much house I can realistically afford while still being comfortable?  Or how would you better diversify the assets that are tied 100% in the markets. 

Current Assets:
401k: 30k
taxable brokerage: 270k

Monthly expenses:
Roughly $2,000 a month including rent

Any quick advice would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks

HenryDavid

• Pencil Stache
Re: How much house can I afford?
« Reply #1 on: March 18, 2015, 10:22:16 PM »
Wrong question.
Ask: what is the shelter arrangement that will allow for a reasonably comfortable life while requiring the least resources?
Might not be a house. Might be shared. Might be rented. But "I can afford it" is the beginning of all kinds of trouble.
I can currently "afford" way "more house". But it won't improve my life.

jmusic

• Bristles
« Reply #2 on: March 19, 2015, 12:47:51 AM »
That really depends on your plans for the future.  You're 26, I'm guessing you're not married.  Are you planning on getting married and having kids?  If so, then you may want to wait until you have a significant other and make the decision together.  If you don't have marriage aspirations, then renting affords more flexibility.  Don't like the neighbors?  Want to move to another city?  Job location change within the company and don't like the new driving distance?  Renting gives you the flexibility to move at only 30 days notice if your lease is up.

Also, your $2k/mo payments are rather highish; I'm in San Diego so I'm no stranger to high prices.  Maybe consider moving to a cheaper place or getting a roommate? 

MrsPete

• Magnum Stache
« Reply #3 on: March 19, 2015, 06:19:22 AM »