Author Topic: How long can we wait while flattening the curve?  (Read 675222 times)

Bloop Bloop

• Handlebar Stache
Re: How long can we wait while flattening the curve?
« Reply #3300 on: August 03, 2020, 05:40:35 AM »
Melbourne has now closed all retail (other than essential stuff like supermarkets and petrol stations) and most manufacturing.

Professional services workers are required to work from home too.

There's an exemption for sole traders who have no contact with the public, meaning that I'm still able to head to my office to access files there. Which is good, cause I don't want to have to courier all my files to my home. And it gives me flexibility too in terms of timing (curfew doesn't apply to those with a valid reason to be at work, and I tend to work odd hours.)

Bad news is that as a sole trader I don't qualify for the $10k business assistance grant but eh, I think I'll probably survive.

Kris

• Walrus Stache
« Reply #3301 on: August 03, 2020, 05:42:19 AM »
Which is something their general practitioner has probably been telling them for years. Clearly Americans don't listen to their doctors. What effect would a complete stranger have telling them the same thing
I dunno. We managed to greatly reduce the rate of smoking across the West. What measures achieved that? Copy that.

Social stigma, basically. Over time. And huge taxes on cigarettes.

And laws about smoking in public places.

StashingAway

• Pencil Stache
« Reply #3302 on: August 03, 2020, 06:07:41 AM »
They might also mention that water is wet and the sky is blue. It’s not a helpful or relevant fact right now.

Right? It would be like telling a housewife with two young kids whose husband just walked out that her finances would be so much better if she saved 20% of her income in a Vanguard index fund. It may be true, but it's neither kind nor helpful.