Author Topic: Has anyone ever used a Life Coach?  (Read 6195 times)

MoneyIsHard

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Has anyone ever used a Life Coach?
« on: August 10, 2017, 07:09:44 AM »
I am doing well on my FIRE journey but don't really have an inspiring life vision for the future and feel I'm stuck in a rut in most areas of my life.  I'm really just saving money to escape my current job.  I've read and studied a lot of self-development books/articles and feel like I know what to do...I just don't do things with any consistency. 

I am not very good at setting goals and sticking to them (usually move on to something else after a few weeks) and thought having a Coach, someone to help motivate me and someone to hold me accountable, might help.  Has anyone used a Life Coach and found it beneficial and worth the expense?  Or any other ideas?

Thanks!

joonifloofeefloo

• Magnum Stache
  • On a forum break :)
Re: Has anyone ever used a Life Coach?
« Reply #1 on: August 10, 2017, 07:16:04 AM »
I'm newly identifying as being in a rut myself, so keen to hear what has helped others move forward.

For me, life coaches were 100% NOT worth the cost. This is partly because they charged so much, and partly because it had no effect.

I've been reflecting on the topic the last couple of days, wondering why I had a 12-year period of major progress, and extraordinarily little since. It wasn't life coaching that created the 12-year surge. Still working on identifying what did. At the moment, it seems like luck/astrology/the winds that did, lol.

meatface

« Reply #2 on: August 10, 2017, 07:30:32 AM »
I am doing well on my FIRE journey but don't really have an inspiring life vision for the future and feel I'm stuck in a rut in most areas of my life.  I'm really just saving money to escape my current job.  I've read and studied a lot of self-development books/articles and feel like I know what to do...I just don't do things with any consistency.