Author Topic: Getting started  (Read 8902 times)

Strawberrykiwi75

• Stubble
Getting started
« on: November 08, 2013, 08:17:32 PM »
Hi guys, I'm brand new to MMM! I live in New Zealand, 24 year old female. I really want to get financially sorted, but without compromising on my lifestyle- which for me, means being able to go out for dinner and drinks with my friends regularly (I know, not very MMM, but it's part of who I am), and travel. Here's what I'm up to so far:

I currently work as a junior banking advisor for a large bank in Christchurch. My income is around the mid 50k mark.

1. I have fully repaid my student loans (that felt good, about 24k all up!)
2. No debts, except a credit card which I pay off each month. I get rewards and free travel insurance, so I feel this is worthwhile. Plus of course, my money sits in a savings account in the meantime.
3. I have 2 superannuation schemes- one an employer one, currently earning 8.92%. I haven't been in it for very long. I put in 8% of my income, that then gets topped up another 6%. My other super is Kiwisaver- currently on a holiday from this, I put in just enough to get the tax incentives. It's currently earning about 3%
4. I have a savings account which I don't touch, it earns about 3.6% after tax. Trying to add $500 a fortnight, it's up to about 17.5k right now. That's only been for the last few months, or it would be much higher.
5. I put aside $200 a fortnight for travel, technology, clothes and fun savings into another savings account, earning 2.6%
6. I have a great Life insurance policy, with income protection, critical condition & permanent disability all covered.
7. I invest about $50 p.w. into bonds, these are currently just keeping up with the CPI but there is a sort of lotto aspect to them too. I'm thinking about stopping this and looking at other options for these funds.