Author Topic: Forget the slow cooker, give me a pressure cooker!  (Read 61913 times)

boarder42

• Walrus Stache
Re: Forget the slow cooker, give me a pressure cooker!
« Reply #200 on: December 06, 2016, 09:50:11 AM »
Yeah there was plenty of liquid. I'm just a pretty good cook. And pressure cookers are more to speed up breaking down fat and tendons which tenderloin doesn't really need

Yeah I was just about to post asking how those turned out, that's not something I'd usually think of cooking in a pressure/slow cooker.  Same with chicken breasts or a ribeye.

As a general observation, I'd say things that are normally braised in the oven are usually--or at least very often--better with the traditional method.

That said, I love the crap out of my pressure cooker.

You don't get that same browning on the sides and top that you get in the oven.  The Food Lab guy talked about it in a stovetop vs oven debate for stew.

i was planning to use this for chicken breasts, i've seen a lot of frozen breasts recipes that are ready really fast.  for when i forget to thaw meat.

dragoncar

• Walrus Stache
  • Registered member
« Reply #201 on: December 06, 2016, 11:38:50 AM »
For shredding chicken, I feel like the pressure cooker helps. Not 100% sure though, might be placebo

Metric Mouse

• Walrus Stache
  • FU @ 22. F.I.R.E before 23
« Reply #202 on: December 07, 2016, 04:51:45 AM »
For shredding chicken, I feel like the pressure cooker helps. Not 100% sure though, might be placebo

My chicken is antibiotic free - I never considered it might be heavily laced with placebos!

Davids

• Pencil Stache
« Reply #203 on: December 07, 2016, 08:12:27 AM »
My pressure cooker arrived yesterday. Looking forward to putting it to use. Will probably start with a simple bbq chicken or beef recipe to start.

dragoncar

• Walrus Stache
  • Registered member
« Reply #204 on: December 07, 2016, 10:41:14 AM »