Author Topic: FIRE with health issues  (Read 2367 times)

earthshine

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
FIRE with health issues
« on: August 08, 2015, 08:46:00 AM »
hello fellow mustachians,
I am 37 yrs old and have been working for 15 plus yrs, for a great company. I had always hoped to retire early, and am close to $1 million net worth. Unfortunately, I began having health issues earlier this year, and am currently on medical leave.

This has me rethinking my plan to retire... I have always had employer sponsored insurance, or coverage through my parents. I am glad obamacare is an option currently if I do retire early, most health insurance where I live does not cover some of the alternative health care I like to use, in hopes of recovering fully.

Am also concerned about how long obamacare will continue to be available.

I would be grateful for any input someone can provide. I am not good at tracking expenses in a spreadsheet, and will try to look at it this way, but am wondering how to account for unpredictable medical cost?

Retired To Win

• Handlebar Stache
  • making the most of my time and my money
    • Retired To Win
Re: FIRE with health issues
« Reply #1 on: August 08, 2015, 06:39:12 PM »
... I am not good at tracking expenses in a spreadsheet, and will try to look at it this way, but am wondering how to account for unpredictable medical cost?

The first thing I would establish is what portion of those medical costs would be covered by my present insurance, and what portion I would have to fund myself.  What is the present coverage?  That I would think is the starting point to answer your question.

Good luck.

big_slacker

• Handlebar Stache
Re: FIRE with health issues
« Reply #2 on: August 08, 2015, 09:07:13 PM »
I'm likely going to take a new job next week. Pretty badass perks, what I can remember off the top of my head:

Shuttle busses to/from work with wifi, commute counts as working hours
Free beverages