Author Topic: feeling like a failure as a accountant  (Read 4942 times)

theyoungaccountant5757

feeling like a failure as a accountant
« on: April 15, 2018, 10:05:33 AM »
   I'm a new accountant got a job right out of college and I went straight into tax season. I thought the company would teach me  but they just threw me work and expected me to know how to do it. I have become better but I feel like a failure because I keep making mistakes. I'm writing my self notes to I don't make the same mistakes but I'm afraid they are going to fire me. They have a intern and I think they like her better then me.  I'm not sure what to do.

ysette9

• Walrus Stache
Re: feeling like a failure as a accountant
« Reply #1 on: April 15, 2018, 10:39:54 AM »
I feel for you and have two thoughts.

First, look up Imposter Syndrome. You probably are suffering from it. I certainly have had it badly in the past.

Secondly, it is normal to feel you don’t know what you are doing and mad mistakes in the beginning of your first job out of college. Employers know that and smart ones plan for it by providing training and mentoring. Don’t stop asking questions! It took me over a year before I felt like I had learned enough to even start earning my paycheck at my first job. Keep focusing and trying hard and asking for help, but cut yourself some slack as well. The transition from college to work is a hard one and it takes time to get comfortable.

plainjane

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #2 on: April 15, 2018, 12:15:00 PM »
There are a bunch of recent Accounting grads on the forum who might be good people to speak with. Take a look around the journals. [eta: I initially tagged the wrong Amanda. @AmandaS1989 is the one I was thinking of]

From a general work perspective - talk with your boss about the mistakes and how you're trying to avoid them in the future. Ask if they have any other ideas and whether they feel like your learning curve is slower than was expected.