Author Topic: Face Punching Line forms to the right.....  (Read 11633 times)

Steel_Rain

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Face Punching Line forms to the right.....
« on: January 08, 2013, 03:55:34 PM »
Mustachians;

I have been reading this blog for about 6 months and have finally come out of hiding :)  My wife and I have come to realize that we need/want a simpler life and would like to punch out of the Rat race as early as possible.  A little bit about is, both are 47 and working with 2 kids, both in college and living at home.  We live in the far western suburbs of Chicago and I work downtown and commute by train and my wife works (let the face punching begin...)  50 miles away in a Northern Suburb of Chicago.  I am amazed at what MMM lives on and when i run the numbers, it seems very plausible to me.  I am very familiar with where he lives since I’m a CU Boulder grad.  I have come to realize that I have been approaching this the wrong way.   It’s clear that instead of trying amass ever greater piles of cash,  that we would be better served by reducing our costs.

We are blessed with a very high combined income, as in up in the shit tons range compared to what I have seen discussed here and am embarrassed to say we are not all that close to Early Retirement.  Not due to lack of money, we have a net worth approaching 1M. However due to spending the numbers I was running and all the conventional advice was that I was going to need 3-4 M to retire and that seemed to be a long ways off. 

So, I have the outline of a plan and want to see what folks here think.  This is an ongoing project and my wife is willing but skeptical about being so austere :)  Let’s start with the big plus side of our leger;

- Savings Rate today, about 54%   
- Paid off house 2000 sq ft , what I would consider upper middle class but not McMansion level, reasonable($8000/yr)  by Illinois standards anyway Property taxes (Hence why we live so far West)