Author Topic: Expensive Hobbies  (Read 5286 times)

NotBadForADad

• Stubble
Expensive Hobbies
« on: September 04, 2020, 07:54:20 AM »
Curious to see what people in the forum do with their free time and may tend to not be so 'mustachian'.

A little about me:

I'm a musician. I play, live, and breath drums. Drums are expensive when considering good quality well made instruments. I own 3 of them. My daily driver, my dads old 76 Ludwig, and also an electric kit, with an assortment of high quality pies (cymbals). The amount of money I spent on cymbals and drums in the past 25 years I could probably buy a decent SUV outright. Though my love for music and drumming has cost me time, energy, and money, I am at a point where I can make money from playing, and considering that, I have been able to break even for the most part.

I also have found a new passion for wood working and refurbishing furniture. I come from a family of builders and engineers. I have installed flooring my entire life since my family has owned and operated business'. I went to school for engineering and architecture and have held various positions in those fields as well. I wouldn't consider flooring as an expensive hobby, it's just my side gig that pays very well.

However, what I find myself doing so much now is building and recreating used goods. I built a lovely farmhouse table with a matching bench for my house, I have refurbished my mothers age old coffee table, I plan to refurbish our hope chest and soon build an entertainment stand for our living room. I have yet to make any money on my projects but followers on my IG have been asking me to build them computer desks and tables and the like. Something about working with wood in my garage has awoken something in me especially since I spend my life in an office in front of a screen.

Interested to know what others like to do that may be costly, or break even at? My boss likes to golf and drink IPAs, but he's a millionaire so he doesn't count. :)